National Association for the Advancement of Colored People - St. Mary's County, Maryland - Branch #7025   

NAACP - St. Mary's County, Maryland - Branch #7025
NAACP - St. Mary's County, Maryland - Branch #7025
The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.

-- Martin Luther King, Jr.

Join us on Facebook!

Calendar         Our Community       Join         Contact        Home   

About Us
Branch History
What is the NAACP

Membership Form
Take Action
Scholarship Info

Employment Opportunities

Minutes from General Meetings

2009 marked the 100th Anniversary of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). The NAACP is the nation's oldest pre-eminent civil-rights organization.
Join Us at Our Monthly Meeting
General Meeting
(Open to the public)
Last Thursday of each month
6:30 pm
Location: TBD
Watch Homepage for Location

For additional info:
St. Mary’s County Branch NAACP
Post Office Box 189
Lexington Park, MD 20653


General Monthly Meetings
(open to the public)
Last Thursday of each month
College of Southern Maryland
Leonardtown Campus
Building C - Room 205
Leonardtown, MD
6:30 to 8:30 pm

Executive Committee Meetings
(closed to the public)
Meets the Wednesday one week prior to the General Meeting
Portee Building
Lexington Park, Maryland
5:30 pm


President Andrea V. Bowman
First Vice President Dr. Janice T. Walthour
Third Vice President Sylvia T. Brown
Secretary Jacinta Bottoms-Spencer
Assistant Secretary Rose V. Frederick
Treasurer Jimmie L. Hill, Jr.
Assistant Treasurer George A. Brown
  Francis P. Bonds
  Martha J. Carter
  Agnes V. Fenwick
  Elsie Lawrence
  Anna E. Mosely
  Anna G. Tyer
  Carolyn Y. Young
Communications, Press and Publicity Committee
Jacinta Bottoms-Spencer - Chairperson

The Committee on Communications, Press and Publicity shall:

  • seek to promote media content consistent with fundamental NAACP goals which include the elimination of racial isolation and fear and the furtherance of multiracial and cultural understanding

  • endeavor to secure publicity for the work of the Unit and the Association in the local press and on radio, television and other media

  • attempt to interest persons in charge of local news media on conditions affecting minority groups

  • seek to counteract derogatory and erroneous statements in local news media about Blacks and other minority groups

  • be responsible for forwarding to THE CRISIS items covering Unit activities and important local affairs

Education Committee
Dr. Janice Walthour - Chairperson

The Committee on Education shall:

  • seek to eliminate segregation and other discriminatory practices in public education

  • study local educational conditions affecting minority groups

  • investigate the public school system and school zoning

  • familiarize itself with textbook material there from which is racially derogatory

  • seek to stimulate school attendance

  • keep informed of school conditions and strive to correct abuses where found

  • investigate the effects of standardized and high stakes testing practices

  • teacher certification

  • promote parental involvement in education

  • aim to be a center of popular education on the race question and on the work of the Association

Finance Committee
Mr. Jimmie L. Hill, Jr. - Chairperson

The Finance Committee shall consist of the President, Treasurer, and at least one other member.  It shall study the financial needs of the Unit and shall be responsible for drafting an adequate annual budget.

Freedom Fund Committee
Martha Carter - Chairperson

The Freedom Fund Committee shall plan and conduct fund-raising activities, entertainment and other projects for local and national purposes within the scope of the Association's program. It shall work closely with the Financial Committee.

Legal Redress Committee
Francis Bonds - Chairperson

The Legal Redress Committee shall:

  • investigate all cases reported to it

  •  supervise all litigation in which the Unit is  interested

  • keep the National Office and the Branch informed on the progress of every case. It shall not give general legal advice

Membership and Life Membership Committee
Jacinta Bottoms-Spencer - Chairperson

The Membership Committee shall:

  • work throughout the year to maintain and increase the membership of the Association

  • be responsible for planning and organizing the annual membership campaign

  •  be responsible on a continuous basis for soliciting new members and for securing renewals

  • initiate all possible means to obtain Life Members and sponsor a continuing program towards this end

Political Action Committee
Justin Fiore - Chairperson

The Political Action Committee shall:

  • seek to increase registration and voting

  • work for the enactment of municipal, state and federal legislation designed to improve the educational, political and economic status of minority groups

  • seek the repeal of racially discriminatory legislation

  • work to improve the administration of justice

  • work to secure equal enforcement of the law

  • keep the National Office and the Unit informed of all proposed legislation which affects minority groups.

  • The Committee shall be nonpartisan and shall not endorse candidates for public office.

Religious Affairs Committee
Ms. Jacinta Bottoms-Spencer - Chairperson

The Religious Affairs Committee shall include ministerial and lay religious leaders who are members of the Unit. It shall::

  • promote an educational program designed to give moral and ethical interpretation to the civil rights struggle

  • interpret the work of the Association to organized religious groups of all faiths

  • enlist the support of such organized religious groups for membership, fundraising, and the struggle for equality and full civil rights

  • provide resource assistance for religious education and social action  activities, associated with the improvement of race relations

Youth Work Committee
Vacant Position- Chairperson

The Committee on Youth Work shall:

  • develop and coordinate the programs of the senior and youth groups
  • monitor the youth membership in the Branch

Serving St Mary's County since 1946

web design by Debbie Dunlap - ©1997-2013